Fides, veritas et virtus



7 Quick Takes (Vol. 1)

7_quick_takes_sm

1. So I recognize that this is perhaps an unconventional way to start a blog. But you have to start somewhere…and maybe this will jump start me out of my blog-social anxiety and writer’s block and actually get the ball rolling. So…Hooray for Jennifer of Conversion Diary’s 7 Quick Takes!!

2. A nasty virus has been making its way through my family. My two brothers have had high fevers, dizziness, and a terrible cough. The youngest with a 102-103 fever for two days. Now my step-mother has the dizziness and the cough. This can only mean that I am next.

3. My boyfriend warmed my heart earlier this week when he started rhapsodizing about going to Mass with me every Sunday. Some background: BF lives 3000 miles away from me in Guatemala. How we got together and how our relationship works is subject for another post, but we are in the process of discerning marriage. Our conversation left me quietly praising God for sending such a godly and spiritual man into my life even if the circumstances are a bit unorthodox. I know that even if we decide not to spend the rest of our lives together, I will be a better person, a better woman for my relationship with BF. And that, my friends, is a blessing indeed.

4. Spring cleaning madness has hit me HARD. Yesterday’s task? Reorganizing all of my books and dusting bookshelves. Today? Cleaning out my desk and miscellaneous office stuff from my recent (*cough* 3+ months ago) move.

5. I keep reading about and seeing ads for Mystic Monk Coffee . Has anyone tried a cuppa? Should I order some for the house? I would feel so much better about that than Starbucks (or what ever corporate giant we’re currently supporting). Thoughts?

6. I’m dying to buy a copy of the complete Liturgy of the Hours. Unfortunately money is more than a little tight at the moment (join the club, right?) so it will have to wait. I did find this nifty site though so maybe I’ll survive without the book set after all.

7. Good news! I am nearly approved for an 3-6 month homestay apprenticeship with a Traditional Mayan Midwife in Guatemala! I have an interview on Tuesday and if all goes well, it’s a go. It’s so great to see some plans actually taking shape and coming to fruition. You can check out the program here.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. What a wonderful start to your blog! The apprenticeship sounds really exciting, and I have to admit, I’d love to hear more about midwifery! Good luck on that, and not getting sick!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

