Fides, veritas et virtus



7 Quick Takes (Vol. 3)

7_quick_takes_sm3

1.

Gidget's the one on the left.

Gidget's the one on the left.

Prayer request – It seems silly with all these babies in hospitals and family members who are ill. But our four year old Springer Spaniel has been in the ICU at Tufts for five days and isn’t getting any better. Apparently she has hemolytic anemia – her body is destroying its own red blood cells. Three blood transfusions later things are starting to look rather bleak. If you don’t think I’m too silly, could you remember Gidget in your prayers?

2. Has anyone read Thomas Cahill‘s The Gift of the Jews, or Desire of the Everlasting Hills? I’ve been enjoying them both. While he’s more of a historian than a theologian, both books have helped bring the ancient past more alive for me and deepened my understanding of Scripture. Expect a review soon 🙂

3.  bulkcandy

OMG I love maple sugar candy! It’s sugaring season here in Vermont so there’s candy on every corner. I hadn’t eaten any since I was itty bitty but the other day I thought “oh well, why not.” Maple leaf shaped crack, my friends. I felt like I was on speed for the rest of the day, but yet couldn’t stop eating the little candies. Luckily there were only six in the box. Now the trick is not to pick them up everytime I go down to the store.

4. This blog is slow and pointless. I need to spend more time on it, perhaps with a schedule and set times devoted to writing. But I haven’t written regularly just for fun in about ten years. So this is a challenge. Bear with me, it will get there.

5. There may be a move in the near future. With jobs opening up near my abuela’s (that’s grandmother) house in Maryland, I may be moving there soon just to make some cash and keep my little abuelita company. It’s not how I envisioned kicking off my first year out of college, but economic realities being what they are, living with a family member and working in a bustling resort town will probably be the quickest way to get me on my feet. Here’s hoping.

6. Did you hear about this? –  *click* Apparently a 105 year old great-great-great-grandmama is going to throw the first pitch at a spring training game for the Marlins. Oh that we can all be so spry at 105!

7. “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height no depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 8:38-39

Leave a Reply

